Chhattisgarh assembly pays homage to former legislators

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Raipur, Nov 26 (UNI) The Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha today paid rich tributes to four former legislators, who passed away during the inter-session period, and was later adjourned for the day as a mark of respect to the departed leaders.

As the House assembled for the winter session, Speaker Prem Prakash Pandey made obituary reference of former Parliamentary Secretary Mahesh Baghel, a sitting member of the House, who died in a road accident.

He also made obituary references of former minister Ashok Rao and Vasudeo Chandrakar and Jagmohan Das, who were members of Vidhan Sabha in undivided Madhya Pradesh.

Paying tributes to the departed leaders, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh said Mahesh Baghel had worked for the welfare of tribals, while Jagmohan Das had always raised the voice of dalits and the downtrodden. He said former Madhya Pradesh minister Ashok Rao had always stood for his principles. Former Congress legislator Vasudeo Chandrakar was a dedicated leader who worked for the cause of farmers, he added.

Congress Legislature Party deputy leader Bhupesh Baghel, Culture Minister Brijmohan Agrawal, Ms Kamda Jhole (BSP), Mr Ravindra Choubey, Mr Dharamjit Singh (both Congress) and Mr Balmukund Dewangan (BJP) also paid rich tributes.

The house observed two-minute silence as a mark of respect to the departed leaders and was later adjourned for the day.


Please Wait while comments are loading...