ICL announces umpires and match referees for 20-20 tournament

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Nov 21 (UNI) The Indian Cricket League, an Essel Group venture, today announced panel of four umpires and two match referees for the upcoming ICL 20-20 Tournament slated to start from November 30 at the Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium in Panchkula.

The four umpires are, Raymond Julian, Jerrrey Evans, Trevor Jesty and Dean Johnson.

Raymond Julian has umpired in over 500 first class games. Julian became a first-class umpire in 1972 and remained on the list until his retirement at the end of 2001.

Jeffrey Evans from Carmarthenshire, Wales has stood in over 99 first class games apart from officiating Women's One-Day International Matches.

Trevor Jesty, from Hampshire, has stood in over 180 first class matches. His other credentials include receiving the coveted Wisden Cricketer of the Year-UK in the year 1983.

Dean Johnson from Leicestershire has umpired in list A matches.

Ajit Wadekar, who led the Indian team to historic triumphs in the West Indies and England in 1971, one of the best No 3 batsmen in the history of Indian cricket and one of the finest slip fielders and EAS Prasanna, who played his debut test cricket match in 1961 and led Karnataka team twice to Ranji Trophy before retiring from cricket in 1978, will hold the positions of match referees in the forthcoming ICL 20-20 Tournament.


Please Wait while comments are loading...