For first time, Confidence motion failed in Karnataka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Nov 19 (UNI) For the first time in the history of Karnataka legislature, a government has failed to win the vote of confidence even before it was put to vote.

The BJP was dealt a severe blow by Janata Dal (Secular) when the latter backed out from extending support during the vote of confidence moved by the Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa in the specially convened legislative session today.

Earlier in the history of the State Legislature, confidence motions were moved four times and all were won by the respective Chief Ministers.

Mr Yeddyurappa cut short the debate on the motion to announce his resignation on the Floor of the House even before the motion could be put to vote. Speaker Krishna announced that Mr Yeddyurappa's action gave enough indication that he had lost the confidence of the Assembly and adjourned the House sine die.

On January 17, 1984, then Chief Minister Ramakrishna Hegde had sought a confidence vote fearing that his government might fall due to dissident activites in the Janata party. He won the motion with 128 votes in favour and BJP extending outside support.

Former Chief Minister S Bangarappa moved the confidence motion on October 26, after he replaced late Veerendra Patil, who was unceremoniously removed by the Party High Command. Despite a walk-out drama, The Bangarappa government survived winning the confidence.

Late Chief Minister J H Patel, who took over the reins from Mr Deve Gowda who became Prime Minister, had moved a confidence motion as dissident activities were at a peak following the dismissal of Mr Ramakrishna Hegde from the party by Mr Gowda. In the midst of Congress and BJP staging a walk-out, Patel won by receiving 135 votes.

The latest was the confidence motion moved by Mr Kumaraswamy after withdrawing support to the Dharma Singh-led Congress-JD(S) coalition government and forming a government with BJP. Mr Kumaraswamy won the motion with a thumping majority with 138 members voting in his favour.


Please Wait while comments are loading...