Four new parliamentary secretaries in Chhattisgarh

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Raipur, Oct 24 (UNI) The nearly four-year-old Dr Raman Singh government today inducted four legislators as Parliamentary Secretaries, in an apparent bid to win over tribal and other backward classes (OBC) leaders to the ruling BJP in the state.

Tribal legislators Devalala Dugga, Mr Sanjeev Shah, Dr Subhau Kashyap and Mrs Ramshila Sahu, who belong to an OBC community, were sworn in as Parliamentary Secretaries at a function held at the Mantralaya here today.

Dr Singh administered the oath to new Parliamentary Secretaries.

Similarly, former minister Mrs Renuka Singh has been appointed as the vice-chairperson of Sarguja and Northern Region Development Authority.

Another tribal legislator Kamalbhan Singh has been appointed as chairman of Chhattisgarh State Scheduled Tribes Commission.

These appointments assume political significance as it is seen as an attempt to win over the tribals and other backward classes leaders within the party, particularly in the light of the Assembly Elections scheduled for next year.


Please Wait while comments are loading...