Kerala, UP, Chattisgarh and Maharashtra enter quarters

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Oct 18 (UNI) Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Chattisgarh and Maharashtra women qualified for quarter-finals from their respective groups, in the 9th Senior Women and 5th Sub-Junior Girls National Cycle Polo Championships, being organised by Chandigarh Cycle Polo Association at The Banyan Tree School here today.

Kerala registered two victories today. In the first match they defeated Jammu and Kashmir by 15-0 and later trounced Chandigarh by 21-0. Against Chandigarh, Kerala's Kavya lakshmi and Divya Babu netted seven goals each to fashion their team's facile win. Against Jammu and Kashmir, Diva Babu (7), Kaviya Lakshmi (5) and Ashna Aziz (5) were the main scorers for Kerala.

Uttar Pradesh defeated Delhi by 17-0 and Andhra Pradesh by 9-0 to qualify for quarter-finals. Sunita (7), Shobha (4) and Sunita Sipli (4) were the principal scorers for Uttar Pradesh against Delhi.

Shobha (4) Sunita Singh (2) and Sunita Sharma (2) were mainly responsible for UP's triumph over Andhra Pradesh.

Chattisgarh mauled Vidarbha by a huge margin of 20-0. Chattisgarh owed their win to Sonali (7), Sudipti (6) and Poonam (4).

Maharashtra blanked Punjab by 8-0 with Pratiksha Mate netting three goals. Prachi (2), Ruchika (2), Deepika (1) were the other scorers.


Please Wait while comments are loading...