Mysore division emerge overall champions

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysore, Oct 17 (UNI) Mysore Division emerged as the overall championships at the three-day Dasara sports meet concluded here today.

Mysore division with 361 points emerged the champions followed by Bangalore city with 272 points.

Shardha Rani Desai of Bangalore Rural division was declared the Kreeda Rathna award given for best athlete. She broke the 5000 m race with a record timing of 18:42.6 min. Another record was broken by the Bangalore team in the 4X400 M Relay race with a timing of 3:25.5 min. They battered their own record of 4:04 min clocked in 1990.

Sharath Raj and Sreena Priyadarshi, both from the Mysore were declared individual champions in men and women sections with 11 and 15 points respectively.

After distributing the prize to the winners Karnataka Youth Services and Sports Commissioner Amarkumar Pandey announced Rs 20 lakh as prize money to be distributed among the medalists. The cash prize for Kreeda Rathna award was doubled to Rs 10,000 from Rs 5000.

Over 2500 sportspersons took part in the meet which was conducted as part of the Mysore Dasara festivities.


Please Wait while comments are loading...