MP bypoll: 2 more candidates submit papers

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Oct 11 (UNI) Republican Party of India candidate A K Siddharth and independent Abdul Saeed submitted their nomination papers today for the October 30 byelection to Balaghat district's Lanji assembly constituency, official sources said.

A total nine aspirants have submitted papers thus far for the bypoll necessitated by the death of ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA and former minister Dileep Bhatere. The BJP fielded Mr Bhatere's wife Rajeshwari while the main opposition Congress has reposed faith in former MLA Bhausaheb Nagpure.

Independent candidates Prakash and Hutesh submitted their papers yesterday.

The last day for submitting papers is tomorrow. Scrutiny would take place on October 13 and October 15 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature. Counting is scheduled for November 3.


Please Wait while comments are loading...