Tribals demand reservation for 100 yrs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Oct 2: Strongly protesting the demand of Gujjars and other ''non tribal groups,'' for their inclusion to the ST list, Akhil Bharatiya Adivasi Vikas Parishad, the confederation of tribal community organisations, has urged the Centre to extend provisions of reservation to Scheduled Tribes(ST) for next 100 rpt 100 years.

A resolution to this effect was adopted unanimously at the two day 14th national convention of the confederation which concluded here today.

The resolution pointed out that the demand of Gujjars and other such non tribal groups had been turned down by various statutory commissions and competent committees at about half a dozen of occasions during past five decades.

''Therefore, the demand of ST status being presently raised by Gujjar caste should not be recommended to the Centre by the state government'' the outfit urged in the resolution.

The convention also held that present procedure of piecemeal extensions to political reservation in Lok Sabha and state assemblies for STs did create uncertainty and hamper development of the community and therefore in a bid to ensure development of STs at par with general classes, this politcal reservation should be extended for next 100 years.

The convention also demanded extension of reservation provisions for Rajya Sabha and the various state Legislative Councils at par to present reservation in Lok Sabha and state Legislative Assemblies.

The Parishad also demanded extension of provisions of the sixth schedule in the areas of fifth schedule for ensuring greater and effective autonomy in these tribal dominated areas.

The two-day convention also adopted resolutions to demand for mechanism to achieve practically its due share in government services and for ensuring ellivation in educational and economic status of tribal people.

The two day meet was inaugurated by Union Tribal Affairs Minister PR Kyndiah and addressed by a number of dignitaries including Union Ministers Kanti Bhai Bhuria, Manik Rao Gavit and Namo Narain Meena, former Lok Sabha Speaker PA Sangma, Rajasthan cabinet members Dr Kirodi Lal Meena and Kanak Mal Katara.

Over 5000 delegates from all over the country participated in the two day deliberations, an organisers spokesman said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...