Mohali, Naya Raipur to be covered under JNNURM: Cabinet

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 1 (UNI) Peripheral towns of Panchkula and SAS Nagar (Mohali) in Haryana and Naya Raipur (Chhattisgarh) will be covered under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission, the government announced today.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA), an official spokesperson said.

Panchkula and Mohali are entirely in continuum to Chandigarh and in fact, are spill over of the growth of Chandigarh, she said.

Naya Raipur, a satellite city, will be included in the urban agglomeration of Chhatisgarh State Capital, Raipur, so that simultaneous cohesive development of Naya Raipur, alongwith existing city of Raipur, is possible. Presently, total area of Naya Raipur comprises 41 villages.

Infrastructure development of Panchkula and Mohali would now be possible through JNNURM funds along with JNNURM City of Chandigarh.

JNNURM was launched by the government of India in December, 2005 to implement reforms driven planned development of identified cities in a Mission mode, with focus on efficiency in urban infrastructure, service delivery mechanism and basic services to the urban poor with community participation and accountability of Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) and Parastatals towards the citizens.


Please Wait while comments are loading...