BJP demands President dismiss the Karunanidhi Government

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sept 27 (UNI) Terming the proposed bandh called by ruling DMK on October 1 as tantamount to a ''constitutional breakdown', the BJP today demanded President Pratibha Patil dismiss the Tamil Nadu Government, headed by M Karunanidhi, and sack all the Party's ministers at the Centre.

The BJP delegation, led by Leader of Opposition in the Loksabha L K Advani and other top leaders, urged the President to ensure lives of the workers belonging to VHP, RSS, Hindu Munnani and BJP in the state were saved and their properties protected, BJP President Rajnath Singh told mediapersons after the meeting.

He said the BJP, in its memorandum, has stated that the party was not opposed to Sethu Samudram Project in principle but the ruling DMK was in a ''tearing hurry'' to demolish the project even as the cost of historic and cultural heritage -- the Ramsethu. Chief Minister Karunanidhi had not apologised for his ''highly insulting remarks'' on Lord Rama and the bandh called by the state would be a reckless state-sponsored violence'' in and arond Tamil Nadu. Mr Singh said.

He said the several state ministers had provoked violence against the Sangh Pariwar cadres and leaders and during the bandh the police are likely to remain mute spectators to the violence.

''The residences of even senior state office bearers were not spared from the attack when the DMK workers went on an orgy of violence'' the BJP President said.

The memorandum said that the India was a democracy governed by law and right to differ and dissent was a political tradition. The BJP does not believe in violence and condemned it.

''The country is asking a very searching question that if Mr Karunanidhi or the Centre would ask the same kind of questions about Gods and icons of other faiths and religions like they had done in the case of Hindu Gods and Godesses'' Mr Singh said.

The others in the delegation included Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mr Jaswant Singh, senior party leaders M Venkaiah Naidu, Sushma Swaraj and Vijay Kumar Malhotra.


Please Wait while comments are loading...