Adivasi Vikas National convention in Jaipur on Oct 1-2

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Sep 27 (UNI) Close on the heels of the Gujjars gearing up for the second phase of agitation with a 'Jail bharo' stir demanding ST status to the community on October 2, the tribal leaders across the country were gathering here under the banner of Akhil Bharatiya Adivasi Vikas Prishad(ABAVP) for its 14th national convention held here at the Birla auditorium in Jaipur on Oct 1-2.

Addressing a press conference here today ABAVP state president and former minister Rahuveer Singh Meena, MLA, said ''it is a coincidence that both the programmes falls on the same day.'' Mr Meena said Sheduled Tribe leaders right from Union Ministers to Pradhans cutting across party lines from all over the country would attend the two day national convention to be held here for the first time in the state.

He said the major focus of the deliberations would be the national issues like tribals right to forest land and reservation with the challenges from other communities clamouring for inclusion in the ST list.

Referring to the sidelining of Bhil-Meenas of southern Rajasthan with the reservation benefits under ST being cornered by the Meenas of Jaipur and sawai Madhopur he said the Prisahd had already sorted out the issue by recommending 45 per cent of the ST reservation in the administrative and allied services in favour of tribals of the Tribal Sub Plan areas (Bhil Meenas) during its last convention. He said but the state government has not yet implemented its recommendation.

Union Tribal development minsiter P R Kindiya will be the chief guest at the convention while ABAVP national president and former MP Somji Bhai Damor will preside over the inaugural function. The other invitees include the four Chief Minsiters of North Eastern states Dr Pawan Chamling of Sikkim, Nifinrio of Nagaland, Jormathang of Mizoram, Durji Khandu of Arunachal Pradesh, former union ministers P A Sanghma, Shibu Soren, Union Minister of state for home Manikrao Gavid, Union Minister of state for forest and enviornment Namo Narayan Meena, Union Minister of state for agriculture Kantilal Bhuria, Jail Minister Madhya Pradesh Anthar Singh Arya, Kirorilal Meena, Kanakmal Katara, both ministers of Rajasthan, former chief minsiter of Orissa Giridhar Gomang, Dileep Singh Bhuria among others.


Please Wait while comments are loading...