SP's statewide agitation against anti-people policies of UP govt

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Sep 25 (UNI) The Principal Opposition Samajwadi Party (SP) today staged a statewide demonstration to protest the ''anti-people'' and ''undemocratic'' policies of the ruling Mayawati-led BSP government in Uttar Pradesh.

Addressing a press meet here this evening, SP state president Ram Sharan Das and party MP Bhagwati Singh said, ''To protest the anti-people and undemocratic policies of the UP government, lakhs of students, youths, farmers, traders led by SP leaders and activists staged demonstrations at 70 district headquarters.'' Mr Singh alleged ''Mayawati is quashing all the significant decisions of the previous Mulayam Singh Yadav government with an aforesaid malice. After coming to power, she stopped all the development works started during the SP regime...Mayawati is leading UP towards destruction. She has got nothing to do with development of the state. She is only money-oriented.'' The Chief Minister is harassing SP leaders and workers by getting fake criminal cases registered against them, he charged.

Terming the Mayawati decision to ban the students' union polls ''undemocratic,'' he observed the students union has produced great leaders like former Prime Minister late Chandrashekhar, Narayan Dutt Tiwari and Janeshwar Mishra. Its an incorrect decision and would only encourage criminals.

He said in Etawah, almost 50,000 people under the leadership of SP national general secretary Prof Ram Gopal Yadav and state general secretary Shivpal Sinh Yadav took to the streets and staged demonstrations at several parts of the city.

Almost 10,000 people, led by SP leader Ashok Bajpai, staged 'dharnas' in Kanpur city to protest the anti-people policies of the state government.

Ranting anti-Mayawati slogans, several thousand party activists took to the street in Siddharthnagar to demand quick payment of sugarcane dues to the farmers.

Similar protests were seen in Lucknow, Meerut, Muzaffarnagar, Allahabad, Hardoi, Azamgarh, Agra, Jhansi, Banda, Aligarh, Mau, Bulandshahr, Ghaziabad, Bagpat, Moradabad, Bareilly, Badaun, Saharnpur, Kannauj, Bahraich and Lakhimpur Kheri districts.


Please Wait while comments are loading...