• search

Rajasthan to constitute commission for reservation to EBCs

Written by: Staff

Jaipur, Sep 17 (UNI) The Rajasthan government will constitute a three-member committee, headed by the retired Judge of the High Court, to identify groups of economically backward people in various non-SCs, non-STs and non-OBCs communities and evolve criteria for them.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Rajendra Singh Rathore gave this information to reporters here this evening, adding that a decision in this regard was taken by Chief Minister Vasudhara Raje in her budget speech earlier this year.

Justice Shashi Kant Sharma will be the Chairman of the commission while the other two members of the commission will comprise retired Rajasthan Higher Judicial Service (RHJS) officer Mahesh Singh Tanwar and retired IAS officer Ashutosh Gupta.

He said while the commission will work for the benefits of economically weaker sections in the higher castes, it will not affect or alter the existing benefits of reservation to SCs, STs and OBCs.

''The commission is expected to submit its recommendations by three years,'' Mr Rathore said.

With this, Rajasthan has become the first state in the country which constituted the commission to fulfil aspirations of various community outfits, including the Samajik Nyaya Munch, Brahmin Mahasabha, Sarva Brahimin Mahasabha and Pratap Foundation, Mr Rathore said.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more