Arjun Singh launches media & research school

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 15 (UNI) As part of its unique initiative to promote research and study in media and communication-related fields, the Centre for Media studies today launched its media and research school.

The CMS Academy of communication and convergence studies, a uniquely designed research driven, practically relevant and futuristically oriented institute with integrative pedalogy, was inaugurated by Union Minister for Human Resource Development Arjun Singh this evening during the ongoing CMS Vatavaran film festival, the only Environment and Wildlife Film Festival in the country.

In his message on the occasion, Mr Singh said,''I appreciate the initiatives being taken by the CMS in the field of communication technology and conducting sensitivity programmes on social development for civil society groups over the years.'' The second last day of the film festival, the fourth edition of the annual Vatavaran Film Festival, saw the organisation of a panel discussion on the topic of 'conservation and livelihood'.

Present at the panel discussion were independent consultant Seema Bhatt, filmmaker Kishnendu Bose, Head of Traffic India Sammer Sinha and convenor of Gene campaign Suman Sahai.

The discussion was a forum to initiate dialogue on conservation and livelihood issues in an attempt to work towards a more successful paradigm that takes into account the livelihoods of people most dependent on bio-diversity while also conserving the same.

The five-day festival, organised by the Centre for Media Studies with support from the Union Ministry for Environment and Forests, showcased 72 films-- 48 in the Indian section and 24 in the International section.

The festival will culminate tomorrow with the conferring of the CMS Vatavaran awards. Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit will present the 'Delhi Chief Minister's Award' for the Best film in Environment conservation category.

The jury for Indian films was headed by veteran filmmaker and Dadasaheb Phalke award winner for 2005 Shyam Benegal and comprises professor of the endangerad species management department of the Wildlife Institute of India B C Choudhry, cinematographer Alphanso Roy, South Indian filmmalker Revathy Menon and emeritus scientist C R Babu.

A unique feature of this year's festival, which has Climate Change as its theme, was the showcasing of a panorama of films on Climate Change viz 'Happy Feet', 'The Day after tomorrow' and ' The Inconvenient Truth'.

After the festival, the nominated and award winning films will tour different parts of the country as part of CNS Vatavaran's travelling film festival.


Please Wait while comments are loading...