• search

TN bypoll: Cong beats AIADMK by huge margin

Written by: Staff

Madurai, June 29: Backed by the DMK led Democratic Progressive Alliance (DPA), Congress candidate K S K Rajendran won the byelection to the Madurai West Assembly constituency, trouncing his nearest AIADMK rival Sellur K Raju by a huge margin of 31,115 votes.

The Congress candidate polled 60,933 votes and the AIADMK nominee 29,818. The bye-election, caused by the death of Mr S V Shanmugam (AIADMK) was held on June 26.

The Congress, which wrested the seat from the AIADMK, increased its tally in the 234-member state assembly to 35. In the 2006 Assembly elections, Mr Shanmugam had defeated the then Congress candidate N Perumal by a slender margin of 3,467 votes.

Actor-turned-politician Vijaykant's fledgling Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) came third with an impressive 21,272 votes, eating into the AIADMK's pie. The BJP came a distant fourth with just 1,308 votes.

Thanking the electorates for giving the massive victory, DMK President and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi said the bypoll victory was a prize given by the people for DMK's sincerity in implementing its poll promises.

Despite the Election Commission acting tough, transferring as many as 163 officials, including the Madurai Collector, Police Commissioner and senior police officials, the Madurai West people have given the resounding win.

Hailing the victory, TNCC President M Krishnasamy said the outcome of the bypoll was a victory for the achievements of Congress-led UPA government at the Centre and DMK-led DPA in the State. The people have given a certificate for the achivements of the two governments, he said.

AIADMK General Secretary J Jayalalithaa, asking partymen, not to get disheartened by the result, alleged that the DMK-backed Congress had won the bypoll by hatching a conspiracy, letting lose atrocity and misusing official machinery. ''It is not the people's verdict,'' she added.

Jubiliant Congress and DMK workers celebrated the victory by bursting crackers and distributing sweets at their respective party headquarters.

Meanwhile in Chennai, Tamil Nadu Congress President M Krishnaswamy thanked Democratic Progressive Alliance (DPA) President and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi, his Madurai-based eldor son M K Azhagiri and other front leaders for the thumping victory of the Congress candidate in the bypoll to the Madhurai West Assembly seat.

Addressing a press conference here, he said the victory for the Congress reflected the people's faith on the Congress-led UPA Government at the Centre and the DMK Government in Tamil Nadu and its achievements.

He claimed that despite AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa's all out efforts to stall the byelection, the Election Commission had conducted the poll in a peaceful manner.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more