• search

Over 60 per cent polling in Daryapur and Chimur

Written by: Staff

Mumbai, Dec 4 (UNI) Over 60 per cent polling was reported in Daryapur and Chimur constituencies in Maharashtra Amravati and Chandrapur districts respectively, where polling for the two assembly by-elections were held today.

State Chief Electoral Officer U P S Madan said the incident-free polling had reached around 60 per cent in Daryapur while it was around 63 to 65 per cent in Chimur.

The counting will take place on December 7.

The two seats fell vacant following the resignation of former Shiv Sena MLAs Prakash Bharsakale (Daryapur) and Vijay Wadettiwar (Chimur) from the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. Both immediately joined the Congress and were given the party tickets for the polls.

Dr Ramesh Gajabe is the BJP candidate from Chimur constituency, while Sena has fielded Balasaheb Hinganikar from Daryapur. Mr Bharsakale was the sena MLA from this constituency since 1990. There are 21 candidates in Chimur while 12 are contesting in Daryapur constituency of Vidarbha.

The outcome of the two seats is a prestige issue for Revenue Minister Narayan Rane who was instrumental in the success of five out of six Congress candidates in the Assembly by-elections.

The by-election created tension between Sena and BJP as the latter staked its claim on Chimur and succeeded in getting the same.

The Khairlanji massacre is likely to have an impact on the outcome of the elections since Dalit organisations have decided to boycott the polls.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X