• search

Lok Sabha adjourned after paying respects to departed members

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Nov 22 (UNI) The Lok Sabha was today adjourned for the day on the opening day of the Winter Session of Parliament after paying homage to five former members, who died during intercession.

The members were -- Mr Satya Narain Sinha, Mr Shankar Rao Patil, Mr Raveendra Varma, Mr Kanshi Ram and Mr Bhikhu Ram Jain.

After the Speaker read out the obituary references, recalling the association with and contribution of the five former colleagues to Parliament, the House observed a two-minute silence to their memory.

Earlier, six new Lok Sabha members, elected recently in the by-elections in various states, were administered oath of secrecy.

The new members include former Union Minister Syed Shahnawaz Hussain (BJP), Mr Ramswaroop Prasad (JDU), Mr Rampal Singh (BJP), Mr Abu Hasan Khan Chowdhary (Cong), Mr N Mehto (CPM) and Mr A A Mandal (CPM).

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh then introduced to the House the three ministers recently inducted in his cabinet. They included Mr A K Antony, Mr Jaiprakash Narain Yadav and Mr M H Ambareesh.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more