1108 students of IIT, Roorkee get degrees.

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Dehra Dun, Nov 11 (UNI) In all, 1108 students of Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee received their respective degrees for various courses on the 6th Annual Convocation Ceremony held at IIT Convocation hall today.

The degrees were presented by the Chief Guest Dr Justice Shivaraj V Patil, member, National Human Rights Commission.

Addressing the audiences, Dr Patil said ''Anyone may go out of India to earn or learn but India should never go out of him.'' He called upon them to have concern and commitment, particularly for the needs of the people in the country.

Calling upon the teaching faculty of the institutethat the Human rights by their very nature constitute the minimum, Dr Patil urged them to take their progession as a service and not as job.

Speaking on human rights, Mr Patil said that war produced hunger and peace cannot co-exist,'' he said adding that the human rights by their very nature constitute the minimum that is necessary for for an individual to live in civil and political society as a free individual with dignity and respect and to realise his full potential.

Nagendra Singh (B.Tech. Chemical) received President's Gold Medal, Ms. Aparna Mukherjee (Msc.chemistry) bagged The President of India Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal, Director's Gold Medal and Dr. Jai Krishna Gold Medal went to Pratik Mathur (B.Tech. Prod.

&Indl.) The Institute also honoured its four outstanding alumni Prof Bharat Singh, Prof S K Khanna, Er Pradeep Baijal and Er R K Singh with the distinguished Alumnus Award.


Please Wait while comments are loading...