• search

DMK announces its Mayoral candidates

Written by: Staff

Chennai, Oct 25: The ruling DMK, leading the DPA, which had swept the recent local bodies elections today announced Mayoral candidates for the four Corporations.

The DMK also announced the deputy mayoral candidates for two other Corporations, which it had allotted to its ally, Congress.

Of the six Corporations, DMK retained the Chennai, Madurai, Tirunelveli and Salem, and allotted Coimbatore and Tiruchirapalli to the Congress.

Party President and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M Karunanidhi said Mr M Subramaniam and Mrs R Sathyabama would be the Mayoral and Deputy Mayoral candidates for Chennai Corporation.

Mrs Thenmozhi Gopinathan would be the Mayoral candidate for Madurai Corporation and Mr P M Kannan would be her deputy.

Mr A L Subramanian and K Muthuramalingam would be Mayoral and Deputy Mayoral candidates, respectively for Tirunelveli, while Mrs Rekha Priyadarshini (Mayor) and C Panneerselvam (Deputy Mayor) were chosen for the Salem corporation.

Mr N Kartik and Mr M Anbhazagan would be the Deputy Mayoral candidates for the Coimbatore and Tiruchirapalli Corporations, allotted to the Congress party.

The candidates would formally be elected as Mayors and Deputy Mayors by the councillors in the indirect elections to be held on October 29.

Meanwhile, bonhomie and fanfare marked the swearing-in of nearly 1.30 lakh local body representatives who were elected in the two phase polls on October 13 and 15.

At the decked up Ripon Buildings in the city, housing the Chennai Corporation, 153 of the 155 newly-elected councillors were sworn in by Corporation Commissioner M P Vijayakumar.

Except for the two AIADMK Councillors, who had resigned their posts, the remaining 153 took Oath at a colourful function.

Two expelled AIADMK councillors Mr Subash Chandra Bose and Ms Bhuvaneswari also took oath and they would be treated as Independents, Mr Vijayakumar later told newsmen.

Meanwhile, MDMK General Secretary Vaiko today expelled party councillor M Kanniappan for taking oath in defiance of his directive to him to resign his post, in protest against the violence in the polls. Kanniappan was elected from Ward Number 40.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more