• search

12 Ministers to take oath tomorrow, Congress to join govt

Written by: Staff

Ranchi, Sep 7: UPA high-powered co-ordination committe in Jharkhand chariperson Sibu Soren (JMM) today asserted that 12 Ministers, including Chief Minister designate Madhu Koda, will take oath at 1500 hrs tomorrow at historic Morhabadi ground here.

Mr Soren's claim put at rest all speculations and controversies, which were sought to be made an issue by the Opposition NDA, which yesterday urged Governor Syed Sibtey Razi to ensure that oath of office and secrecy be administered to all 12 Ministers at one go.

A day ahead of the function, Mr Soren today told reporters here that the Koda-led government would comprise the Congress, JMM, RJD and other UPA partners.

Mr Soren said the names of the Ministers had almost been finalised with some minor details to be addressed regarding the Home portfolio.

Asked about the post of Speaker with specific reference to Mr Stphen Marandi (IND), whose name was doing the round, the Coal Minister said many of names were in the list and discussions were going till now.

He refused to further elaborate on the matter for the time being and also adopted the stance when he was asked about how many Ministers from the JMM would be accommodated in the Cabinet.

He said Ministers would be taken from the Congress, RJD, JMM and other UPA allies and made it clear that everyone could not be made Ministers.

The government has to run, he said adding the UPA came back to power with an agenda of working for people and the Legislators should keep that point in mind.

Yesterday, senior BJP leader and party Legislator Saryu Rai urged the Governor to ensure that the Chief Minister designate of UPA takes his oath under Constitutional provisions with all eleven Ministers required in the state cabinet.

Mr Rai sent a letter to the Governor mentioning Article 164(1) of the Constitution, which indicates the number of Ministers in the Cabinet should be 12, including the Chief Minister.

The Congress till yesterday was saying they would support the government from outside. Meanwhile, Mr Soren was appointed to head the steering committee and the coordination committee of the UPA coalition in Jharkhand. The decision emerged at a UPA meeting yestrday that the JMM supremo would head the 21-member steering committee comprising chiefs of allies and their representatives.

Besides, the JMM president would head the coordination committee comprising representations from all the allies, including Independent MLAs or their representatives.

An advisory formed at the meeting had been asked to prepare a list of basic requirements of the people and problems like water, electricity and roads.

The common minimum programme of the UPA would be made by a draft committee.

Mr Mahto said the setting up of the committees were taken up so that the UPA would not experience the same problems that had been the bane of the previous government.

The 21-member steering committee would have two MPs from the JMM, two from the Congress and one from the RJD.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more