• search

BJP stakes claim for Chimur seat; supports Sena in Daryapur

Written by: Staff

Mumbai, Sept 11 (UNI) The BJP today staked its claim for the Chimur legislative assembly seat where by-election has been necessiated following resignation of sitting Sena MLA Vijay Vadettiwar, who switched over to Congress.

''Chimur was actually our seat but in 2004 assembly elections a Sena candidate contested and got elected. Now we have requested the Sena leaders to give this seat back to the BJP and in lieu, the party would support the Sena's canidate in the Daryapur constituency by-election'', Maharashtra BJP president, Mr Nitin Gadkari told reporters here.

Prakash Bharsakale, who was the Sena MLA since 1990 from Daryapur, resigned from the State Assembly and joined the Congress recently.

BJP has got a strength of 54 in the Assembly, out of the total number of 288 seats, while the Sena has 56. So far eight Sena MLAs including Revenue minister Narayan Rane, have switched over to the Congress. Out of the eight MLAs, five of them have got re-elected as Congress candidates, while one seat was won by the Sena. The two by-elections at Chimur and Daryapur are going to be held soon.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more