• search

IOC, UP enter last eight in Dr Ambedkar gold cup tourney

Written by: Staff

Pune, Aug 9 (UNI) Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOC) today gave their best before sinking to the hard-hitting Indian Navy by a solitary goal and made into the last eight stage in the Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar All India Gold Cup hockey tournament hosted by the Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC) at their astroturf stadium at Pimpri near here.

The other teams which made into the last eight stage are Uttar Pradesh, who sent Bengal packing posting a hard fought 3-2 triumph, and Mumbai XI, who thrashed mediocre Kolhapur XI by a huge margin of 6-0.

The IOC versus Indian Navy clash provided the iceing on the cake today. In a fast-paced match the Indian Navy were found wanting in translating the half chances that came their way.

Though the IOC had the better of the exchanges forcing half a dozen penalty corners but could not conver any despite enjoying an upper hand, the match winner came in the 39th minute when inside right Kamlesh Parmar weaved past a wall of defenders befoore netting jthe goal.

The Indian Navy despite putting up a gutsy performance, lacked ideas. However, their centre forward Surinder Kumar who often made inroads into the rival defence failed to find the mark.

They forced three penatly corner, which proved abortive.

Uttar Pradesh gave a better account of themselves over a lacklustre Bengal. Hirender Divedi put them ahead in the very first minute capitalising a penalty corner. Rajesh made it 2-0 in the fifth minute again, converting a penalty corner while Ravi Bharati sealed the Bengal fate by coverting another penalty corner in the 41st minute. Bengal reduced the margin via Hardeep Singh who made no mistake with the stroke awarded by the umpire Lokraj of Karnataka in the 32nd minute, while Junas Bara scored via a penalty corner in the 54th minute.

Earlier, Mumbai XI did not have to exert much as they scored at will. Their ebullient inside right Chandrakesh Kumar helped himself with a brace scoring in the 53rd and 55th minute respectively. The other scorers were Nilesh Mane PC in the 33rd minute. Vijay Alponso 48th, Abhishek Kumar 53rd and Hemanth Gethe in the 57th minute respectively.

Kolhapur boys endeavoured but failed to strike gold.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X