• search

Govt announces waiver of land tax in 22 districts

Written by: Staff

Chennai, Aug 8 (UNI) The Tamil Nadu Government today announced waiver of land tax in 22 districts where several thousand hectares of crops were damaged during rains and subsequent floods last year.

Announcing this while replying to the debate on the demands for grants for his department, Law and Revenue Minister I Periyasamy said land tax to the tune of Rs 11.52 crore in about 4,92,722 hectares in the districts would be waived for the agri-year July 1, 2005 to June 30 this year.

Crops in Kancheepuram, Tiruvallur, Cuddalore, Villuppuram, Salem, Tiruvannamalai, Namakkal, dharmapuri, Krishnagiri, Erode, Tiruchirapalli, Perambalur, Karur, Pudukottai, Thanjavur, Nagapattinam, Tiruvarur, Madurai, Dindugul, Ramanathapuram, Sivaganga and Virudhunagar districts were affected by floods, he said.

Stating that work with regard to formation of Ariyalur as the 31st district of the State had already commenced, Mr Periyasamy also announced formation of two new taluks.

Chengam in Tiruvannamalai would be bifurcated to form a separate Taluk with Tandrampet as headquarters and Dindigul would be bifurcated to form a taluk with Aathur as headquarters.

He said during the current year new Revenue Tahsildar offices would be set up in Tirukkuvalai, Katpadi, Alangudi, Tirukazhukundram, Srirangam, Keezhvelur and Manachanallur and that in kattumannarkoil would be renovated at a total cost of Rs 10.20 crore.

The government had also allotted Rs 19.53 lakh to provide mobile phone connections to revenue department officials.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X