• search

Speaker to hear 5 rebel SP MLAs case on July 17

Written by: Staff

Lucknow, July 7 (UNI) Uttar Pradesh assembly speaker Mata Prasad Pandey today fixed July 17 as the next date of hearing in the case related to disqualification of five ruling Samajwadi Party MLAs, who had voted in favour of the BSP in the recently held Rajya Sabha and legislative council polls.

The petitioners' counsel maintained that when MLA Ratan Lal Ahirwar had admitted that he had voted for the BSP and violated the whip, there was no question of further hearing in his case.

The speaker, however, said any decision on Ahirwar's submission would only be taken after verification of the MLA's letter sent to him from Jhansi jail. He also directed Ahirwar's presence during the next hearing and if required counsel should be provided to him.

At present, Ahirwar is lodged in Jhansi jail in connection with several criminal cases. In his letter, Ahirwar had accused the state government of harrasing his family members and alleged lodging of fake criminal cases against him.

During the hearing, the respondent's counsel demanded the copy of the SP whip for the RS polls and documents to prove that these five MLAs had attended a BSP workers meet here on April 30.

Mr Pandey also directed the petitoner to give the Hindi version of the petition copy to the respondent and had asked the five MLAs to file their final objections by July 14.

The speaker served the notices to five MLAs on June 27 on a petition filed by SP general secretary and state PWD minister Shivpal Singh Yadav, alleging that these MLAs had voted in favour of BSP candidates in the recently concluded RS polls, in violation of party whip.

The petition also charged that these MLAs attended a BSP workers meeting at Ambedkar Maiden on April 30 which was addressed by Ms Mayawati.

The RS elections, held on March 28, witnessed large number of cross voting by the legislators.

The five rebel SP MLAs include Omvati Devi, Sunder Lal, Kamlesh Pathak, Kalyan Singh Dohre and Ratan Lal Ahirwar.

Three MLAs have already submitted their preliminary objection to the petition. Ms Omvati had sought some time, while Kamlesh Pathak was yet to receive the notice.

Earlier, the speaker had already disqualified assembly membership of five MLAs belonging to the Loktrantrik Bahujan Dal (LBD), who had switched over to the BSP on March 1. The disqualified LBD members are Jaiveer Singh, Surendra Vikram Singh, Dharampal, Ramji Shukla and Ramkrishna.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more