Tursunov faces fine after umpire spat
LONDON, July 4 (Reuters) Russia's Dmitry Tursunov is likely to receive a heavy fine after launching a fierce attack on chair umpire Fergus Murphy following his five-set defeat by Finland's Jarkko Nieminen at Wimbledon yesterday.
Tursunov was furious after being docked a point at the start of the final game of the fourth round match because he hit a ball into the Irish umpire's chair at the end of the previous game when he lost his serve.
''Maybe it's something personal now because I've always argued with him during my matches,'' said Tursunov after his 7-5 6-4 6-7 6-7 9-7 defeat on court three.
''But I think he's terrible. If the guy's an idiot, the guy's an idiot. I'm going to let him know that I feel that.
''For the last three matches that he's been on the chair during my matches, I've always had problems with him. I'm not going to go into details, but I think he's a very bad referee.
''Just because he's been doing it for many years doesn't mean that he's been doing a good job, does it? ''I guess you could disagree with politicians, and they can be serving 16 terms or whatever. Saddam Hussein has been in Iraq for a while, but not too many people agree with his point of view.
''I guess a person can be doing a bad job for many years and still get away with it.'' Tursunov denied he had been trying to hit the umpire when he struck the ball at the chair, saying it was just an act of frustration.
''He said that I hit the ball at him, so that's why he gave me a point penalty,'' said the 23-year-old.
''If I was hitting it at him, I would have hit it at him.
''I'm sure I'll be fined for anything that they can possibly fine me for.
''But I think the only frustrating thing is that if I had two things that I got penalties for and they're going to fine me for two things.
''If he made 16 mistakes during the match, he's going to go away and get the same prize money for his job, and he's not going to be punished for anything. That's the only frustrating thing about it. But, yeah, I will be fined, I'm sure.'' Reuters DH VP0415