• search

32 teams to vie for 9th Mushtaq Memorial football cup

Written by: Staff

Srinagar, June 7 (UNI) As many as 32 teams, including hot favourites Jammu and Kashmir Bank and BSF Jalandhar, will take part in the ninth Police Martyr's Mushtaq Memorial Football Tournament, beginning here on June 10.

The 15-day championship, organised by the Jammu and Kashmir Police, will be played at the Bakshi Stadium here.

Among the teams are Haryana Police, CRPF Delhi, SSB Delhi, Royal Club, YMCA, Auxiliary Police and Sasalo Club.

Last year, the tournament was won by BSF Jalandhar defeating Jammu and Kashmir Bank three goals to nil in the finals.

In all 32 teams from the state as well as outside state were expected to participate in the tournament. The matches would be played on the knock-out basis under the auspices of Jammu and Kashmir Football Association (JKFA).

The tournament was instituted by the Jammu and Kashmir Police in 1998 in memory of Inspector Mushtaq Ahmad Baba who laid down his life while defusing a car bomb at Srinagar. Since then the state police has been holding the tournament regularly.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more