• search

19 Naxals surrender in Warangal

Written by: Staff

Warangal, Jun 6 (UNI) Nineteen Naxals belonging to Maoist, CPI(ML) Jana Shakti and Praja Pratighatana groups surrendered before Warangal Range Deputy Inspector-General of Police (DIG) Ravi Gupta today.

They comprised 12 Maoists, four Naxals of Praja Prathighatana, two of Janashakti and one belonging to the Prathighatana group.

They surrendered at a meeting specially organised to call Naxals into the mainstream by the police on Tadvai Junior College premises.

Among the Maoists leaders, one was Medaram Local Organising Squad Commander C Ramaiah and two deputy commanders B Sambaiah (Gundala Local Organising Squad) and A Narayana (Khammam Local Guerilla Squad). One Dalam member of Chattisgarh state also surrendered.

Mr Gupta said Naxals leaving the movement and joining the mainstream was like a rebirth for them.

Warangal Superintendent of Police M S Ravindra said local people should help the surrendered naxals in leading a normal life. Police stations in the district would also give employment information to the unemployed youth, and provide employment application forms free of cost, he added.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more