• search

19-member Left Front Ministry sworn in Kerala

Written by: Staff

Thiruvananthapuram, May 18: A 19-member Left Democratic Front (LDF) Ministry headed by CPI(M) politbureau member V S Achuthanandan was sworn in today in Kerala.

Governor R L Bhatia administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr Achuthanandan and the new Ministers at a function in the Central Stadium adjacent to the State Secretariat complex.

Mr Paloli Mohammedkutty, Mr Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, Mr M A Baby, Dr T M Thomas Isaac, Mr P K Gurudasan, Mr A K Balan, Mrs P K Sreemathi, Mr S Sarma, Mr G Sudhakaran, Mr M Vijayakumar and Mr Elamaram Karim (all CPI-M), Mr K P Rajendran, Mr Binoy Viswom, Mr C Divakaran and Mr Mullakkara Ratnakaran (all CPI), Mr P J Joseph (Kerala Congress-J), Mr N K Premachandran (RSP) and Mr Mathew T Thomas (Janata Dal-S) were the Ministers sworn in.

Sixteen of the Ministers, including Chief Minister Achuthanandan, are new faces in the Cabinet. Mr Mohammedkutty, Mr Sarma and Mr P J Joseph were Ministers in the Nayanar ministry of 1996-2001.

Mr Achuthanandan (82) is the 25th Chief Minister of Kerala and the fifth from Communist ranks.

A large number of people, including family members of the Ministers, witnessed the swearing-in ceremony, held for the first time outside Raj Bhavan premises.

The CPI(M)-led LDF won 98 of the 140 Assembly seats in the polls throwing the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) out of power.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more