• search

Pranab, Arjun, Bhardwaj, Chidambaram to go into OBC quota: PM

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, May 17 (UNI) Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has constituted a four-member ministerial team, including HRD Minister Arjun Singh and and Defence Minister Pranab Mukherjee, to finalise the steps for ensuring OBC quota in educational institutions.

The other members of the committee are Law Minister H R Bharadwaj and Finance Minister P Chidambaram.

Besides weighing various options, including increasing the number of seats in premier institutions such as IIMs and IITs to protect the interests of all sections of society, the ministerial panel would also suggest whether to resort to the ordinance route to provide for reservation from the 2006-07 academic year, official sources said today.

Several political leaders, including PMK supremo Dr S Ramadoss who met the Prime Minister on the issue yesterday, confirmed the setting up of the panel, but the media managers of the PMO pleaded ignorance over the development.

The members of the panel could not be contacted, while it was not known whether the committee had been given a deadline for coming out with its report.

Mr Arjun Singh assured the Lok Sabha today that the interests of the agitating medical students and others would be protected.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more