• search

Karunanidhi, new members barring five, sworn in

Written by: Staff

Chennai, May 17 : Led by Chief Minister M Karunanidhi, all but five of the newly elected members of the Tamil Nadu assembly were sworn in today, as the 13th assembly got off to a start.

Senior Congress Member D Sudharsanam, who was appointed as Pro tem Speaker at Raj Bhavan last evening, administered the oath to the new members in the House this morning.

Former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa and actor Vijayakanth, making his debut to the assembly, were among the five members who failed to turn up on the opening day. Mr Sudharsanam said that Ms Jayalalithaa and Mr Vijayakanth would take oath in his chamber tomorrow morning.

When the House met at 0930 hrs this morning, the Octogenarian Chief Minister, elected to the assembly for the record 11th time, was the first member to take the oath, followed by his 30 ministerial colleagues, Leader of the Opposition, O Panneerselvam and former AIADMK Ministers.

Three CPI members-V Sivapunniyam, K Ulaganathan and P Padmavathy also failed to come to the House today. Party sources said they were busy with the arrangement of a public meeting to be addressed by Mr Karunanidhi at Tiruvarur tonight and would take oath in Pro tem Speaker's chamber tomorrow.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more