• search

Swing of 4.67 p c votes gave DPA win in TN polls

Written by: Staff

Chennai, May 14: A swing of 4.67 per cent of vote share in favour of the Democratic Progressive Alliance (DPA) brought victory to the DMK-led alliance in the recent elections in Tamil Nadu.

A total vote share of 44.73 per cent helped the DPA win 163 of the 234 seats, but the AIADMK-led front, which secured a vote share of 40.06 per cent, could secure only 69 seats.

Actor Vijayakanth's Desiya Morpukku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), which was emerging as a force to reckon with in the state politics, has secured 8.38 per cent of votes, marking an impressive performance in its debut election.

The DMK, which contested 129 seats, secured a vote share of 26.45 per cent and won 96 seats. The party, while losing power to the AIADMK in the 2001 elections, had secured 30.92 per cent of votes.

The AIADMK, which allied with the Marumalarchi DMK (MDMK) and Dalit Panthers of India (DPI), apart from some minor parties has secured 32.64 per cent of votes, increasing its percentage from 31.44 per cent, it had secured in the 2001 elections. The party, contested 182 seats, and won 61 seats.

The MDMK, which contested 35 seats, bagged six per cent of votes, bettering its performance of 4.65 per cent votes in the 2001 Assembly polls. The party had contested the last elections on its own.

The DPI, which contested nine seats, in alliance with the AIADMK could secure only about two per cent of votes. While the MDMK won six seats, the DPI got two seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which drew a blank after contesting from 189 seats, secured a 2.02 per cent vote share.

Commenting on the 4.67 per cent swing in favour of the DPA, BJP senior leader M Venkaiah Naidu said the four per cent vote share accounted for the minorities, who had voted for the DMK-led DPA.

The DMDK, which secured 8.38 votes after contesting 232 seats, played spoilsport, affecting the victory prospects of atleast 40 AIADMK, DMK and PMK candidates. The party, on its debut, secured more than 10,000 votes in a majority of constituencies it had contested, though it could win only one seat-with party president Vijayakanth getting elected from Virudhachalam in Cuddalore district.

Thanks to the multicorner contest in almost all the 234 constituencies with DMDK, BJP, Puthiya Tamizhagam, Latchiya DMK and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), as many as 17 candidates could scrape through with very slender margins of below 1,000 votes.

Nine candidates have won the elections by a margin of less than 130 votes and they included R Chinnaswamy of INTU, who contested on AIADMK's two leaves symbol and former AIADMK Miniser K Pandurangan. While Mr Chinnasamy won by the lowest margin of 14 votes at Singanallur, Mr Pandurangan won by 53 votes.

Mr Pandurangan, seeking reelection from Anaicut in Vellore district, broke down as the result was withheld. He was finally declared elected by the Election Commission. Similarly, CPI(M) candidate N Nanmaran won by a margin of 52 votes in Madurai east.

If DMK stalwart K Anbazhagan was prominent among those who scrapped through slender margins, former minister Nainar Nagenthiran was prominent among those who lost by thin margins. While Mr Anbazhagan won by a margin of 409 votes in Harbour, Mr Nagenthiran lost by a margin of 606 votes in Tirunelveli.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more