• search

Karunanidhi, 30 Ministers take oath in TN

Written by: Staff

Chennai, May 13 (UNI) A 31-member DMK Ministry today took oath in Tamil Nadu at an impressive function with party patriarch M Karunanidhi assuming office as Chief Minister of the state for a record fifth time.

Governor Surjit Singh Baranala administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr Karunanidhi and his Cabinet colleagues as thousands of partymen witnessed the ceremony, held at the Nehru Indoor Stadium here this morning.

Minutes after the swearing-in ceremony, Mr Karunanidhi, fulfilling his election promise, signed Government Orders providing rice at Rs two per kg through public distribution system, waiver of farmers' cooperative loans and provision of two eggs per week to children covered under the noon meal scheme.

He signed all the three official files in the presence of the leaders of his alliance parties, amid loud cheers from thousands of party cadre who had gathered at the stadium.

A host of dignitaries, including Union Ministers Pranab Mukherjee, P Chidambaram, Jaipal Reddy, Mani Shankar Aiyer, E V K S Elangovan, G K Vasan, alliance party leaders TNCC President M Krishnasamy, PMK Founder-Leader S Ramadoss, CPI(M) State Secretary N Varadarajan and CPI State Secretary D Pandian were present.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more