• search

Developing 8 urges speedy Iran WTO membership

Written by: Staff

NUSA DUA, Indonesia, May 13 (Reuters) Leaders of eight Muslim-majority nations today urged quick movement in the process of making Iran a member of the World Trade Organisation.

The endorsement came in the final declaration of the Developing Eight (D-8) countries at its fifth summit, held on Indonesia's resort island of Bali.

The group comprises Iran, Indonesia, Egypt, Malaysia, Turkey, Pakistan, Nigeria and Bangladesh.

The declaration said the group recognised ''the need for universal membership of the WTO'' and called for accelerating the process for all developing countries.

''In this context, we express our full support for a speedy accession process of the Islamic Republic of Iran,'' it said.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more