• search

Panneerselvam elected leader of opposition in TN assembly

Written by: Staff

Chennai, May 12 (UNI) Former Revenue Minister and second in command in the outgoing Jayalalithaa regime, O Panneerselvam will be the leader of the opposition in the Tamil Nadu assembly.

Mr Panneerselvam, who had served as interim Chief Minister in the absence of Ms Jayalalithaa, was unanimously elected as leader of the legislature party, chaired by Ms Jayalalithaa at the party headquarters here this evening.

Mr K A Sengottayan, who had served as Transport Minister in the Jayalalithaa government during 1991-96 was elected as Deputy leader of the legislature party.

Ms Jayalalithaa's former cabinet colleagues D Jayakumar and S Karuppasamy and Ce V Shanmugam were elected as whip, treasurer and secretary of the legislature party, respectively.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more