• search

Left is back in Asom assembly

Written by: Staff

Guwahati, May 12 (UNI) The Left is back in Asom politics, after its complete rout in the previous election.

This time the CPI(M) won two seats followed by CPI one, giving a combined strength to three in the 126-member assembly.

The win of two veteran communist politicians -- former MP Uddhab Burman of CPI(M) and Dhrupad Buragohain of CPI -- is likely to give a new thrust to assembly debates. Another communist leader Ananta Deka is the giant killer as he defeated the Chief Ministerial aspirant and state Congress president Bhubaneshwar Kalita at Rangiya. Notably all of them will be entering the Asom Assembly for the first time.

With an impeccable educational background and proven track records, the three Left MLAs are the bright light of the next assembly.

In fact, the left vote share has also marginally improved from the last but this could be more due to its strategic alliance with the AGP.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more