• search

Three manage to scrape through with thin margin

Written by: Staff

Chennai, May 11 (UNI) At least three candidates have scrapped through by wafer-thin margins in the May eight Assembly polls.

INTUC nominee earned the dubious distinction of winning by the lowest margin of just 14 votes from Singanallur in Coimbatore district, defeating veteran trade Unionist A Soundararajan of CPI(M).

In Madurai East, Mr Nanmaran of the CPI(M) won by a margin of 52 votes defeating M Bhoominathan of the MDMK.

In Anaicut in Vellore district, Tamil Nadu Agriculture Minister K Pandurangan led by 53 votes against his PMK rival Mrs Varalaskhmi.

However, the results were referred to the Election Commission for final announcement following a hitch at the fag end of counting.

It was also a close call for DMK stalwart, the party's general secretary K Anbazhagan in Harbour constituency in the city, as he could win by a margin of just 409 votes against Seema Basheer of the MDMK.

According to available results, Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, who was re-elected from Andipatti, had won by a big margin of 25,186 votes, thus far, over her nearest DMK rival P Seeman.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more