• search

Speaker fixes May 20 for final hearing in MLAs case

Written by: Staff

Lucknow, May 11 (UNI) Uttar Pradesh assembly speaker Mata Prasad today fixed May 20 as the final date of hearing in connection with the disqualification of 5 state MLAs who had rejoined the BSP on March 1, 2006.

The speaker, however, reserved his verdict on the application moved by the MLAs seeking party list of the assembly and related documents for filing a detailed reply on the petition.

In preliminary arguments today, Loktrantrik Bahujan Dal (LBD) counsel Anupam Malhotra maintained there was no need of party list as the 5 MLAs had voluntarily left LBD and rejoined BSP.

''Under the 10th schedule, there is no need of party list when the members themselves have claimed they had joined BSP on the pretext of the Februrary 28 judgement of the Allahabad High Court,'' he maintained.

But objecting to LBD plea, MLAs' counsel Raghevendra Singh said the party list was required as there should be some authentic document to prove they were LBD members.

He said when the HC had quashed the speaker's order of September 6 and 8 of split-and-merger and the issue of LBD's recognisation was held to be decided, then how could the 5 MLAs be treated as LBD members.

The speaker also observed when Supreme Court had identified the 40 MLAs as LBD members then what was the need of party list.

Mr Singh claimed the SC order on LBD was only for recognisation as an assembly member and could not be used for 10th schedule.

All the five MLAs -- Jaiveer Singh, Surendra Vikram Singh, Ramji Shukla, Ram Krishna and Dharampur -- had sent their preliminary objections on the petition of disqualification filed by LBD chief whip Yogesh Pratap Singh on their disqualification from the assembly for violating the whip.

In the objections, the MLAs claimed there was no existance of LBD. They have also demanded party list during the RS polls and documents relating to the existance of the LBD and its chief whip.

Earlier on May 5, the Supreme court had turned down the plea of the MLAs to prevent the speaker from hearing their case.

The 5 MLAs had rejoined the BSP on March 1 after the Allahabad High Court by its majority judgement had quashed the split and merger of the 40 member LBD in September 2003.

These 40 MLAs leaving BSP had formed the LBD and later joined the ruling Samajwadi Party.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more