• search

Leaders from all parties pay homage to Mahajan

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, May 10 (UNI) Rueing falling standards in politics, former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee today said Pramod Mahajan epitomised idealism in politics and was one who kept values above issues.

Joining a host of leaders, across the political spectrum, in offering 'shraddhanjali'(homage) to the late BJP leader who passed away in Mumbai on May 3, Mr Vajpayee said following his ideals and values would be the real tribute.

President A P J Abdul Kalam, former Prime Minister V P Singh, Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and UP Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav also sent condolence messages and offered tribute to the 'Chanakya of coalition politics'.

Messages of condolences were also received by the BJP from the embassy of the US, Iran, Bhutan, Nepal and Asia Foundation.

Calling "Pramod bhai" a born fighter and a man of courage, Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee said it was sad that he had to participate in this function organised to pay homage to one of those persons whose absence was not only a loss to the BJP but also to the nation.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi, in her message read out by AICC general secretary Ashok Gehlot, said his death was a shock to her and an irreparable loss to the BJP.

Former Prime Minister I K Gujral, while offering condolences to the family, said he had come to join them in this "hour of pain".

BJP leader L K Advani said Mr Mahajan embodied the qualities of a visionary and statesman. The passing away of a "political manager par excellence" has indeed created a void which was hard to fill.

Among others who offered tributes to the departed soul were Minister of State for External Affairs Anand Sharma, NDA convenor George Fernandes, BJP president Rajnath Singh, RSS functionary Mohan Bhagwat, Samajwadi Party general secretary Amar Singh, JD (U) president Sharad Yadav, former Lok Sabha Speaker Manohar Joshi (Shiv Sena), A B Bardhan (CPI), Tariq Anwar (NCP), Brij Kishore Tripathi (BJD), Rattan Singh Ajnan (Akali Dal), T R Baalu (DMK), Ram Das Athwale (Republican Party) and Sharad Joshi (Swatantra Bharat Party).

Others present on the occasion were Arun Jaitley, Vijay Goel, Gopinath Munde (all BJP), Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda, Digvijay Singh (JD-U), Union Ministers T R Baalu and Pawan Bansal, Ram Gopal Yadav (Samajwadi Party) and Brij Kishore Tripathi (BJD).


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more