• search

70 per cent cast votes in repolling in 18 polling stations

Written by: Staff

Chennai, May 10 (UNI) An estimated 70 per cent of the electorate cast their votes at 18 polling stations in repoll held today following the failure of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) during May eight Assembly election in Tamil Nadu.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Naresh Gupta said the repolling went off peacefully, but voters attached to two polling stations in Tirutani constituency, boycotted the process.

Repoll was ordered at five booths in Tiruttani constituency, three in Palacode and one each in Anna Nagar, Sriperumbudur, Mugaiyur, Aathur, Vedachandur, Kolathur, Thiruvandanai, Paramakudi, Virudhunagar and Vasudevanallur constituencies.

In two booths in Tirutani constituency, the voters boycotted the poll, protesting against order of repoll for the simple reason that more than 80 per cent of votes were polled in the two booths on May eight.

While just only one of the 1,336 voters in Adhikathur village cast vote, all the 813 voters in Periyakalakapadur village stayed back, without exercising their franchise.

However, in three other booths, more than 80 per cent cast their votes, a report from Tiruvallur said. At Makanyam in Sriperumbudur constituency, 79 per cent of the 1,113 voters exercised their franchise.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more