• search

The Pontings of Politics

Written by: Staff

Chennai, Apr 6 (UNI) 'Remaining unbeaten' and performing hat-tricks is not unique to cricketers, footballers or other sportspersons.

Some prominent political leaders in Tamil Nadu have such records behind them as they take on the voters again in the May 8 Assembly polls.

The delight of psephologists, a set of leaders in this state, dominated by the two Dravidian parties, have proven to be unbeatable.

Leading the pack is none another than DMK supremo M Karunanidhi, who was four times Chief Minister. He first made his debut in Kulithalai Assembly constituency in 1957 and has not looked back. He has not lost a single election. He did not however, contest in 1984. His victories in the city include two from another key constituency, Saidapet, in 1967 and 1971.

Mr Karunanidhi, the DMK President is now contesting the May 8 polls, in what will be his 11th 'knock' at the doors of the electorate. What's more, he is in for a hat-trick in Chepauk.

The DMK President has in his kitbag of unbeaten wins that in 1991, defying a wave in favour of the AIADMK, when he was one of just two DMK candidates to triumph. He resigned the seat later, as well known.

Another leader with a record number of wins is MGR follower K K S S R Ramachandran, who has bowled many a googly with his twists and turns. He first won from Sathur in 1977 for the AIADMK. He kept up his run in 1980, 1984 and 1991, the latter as an Independent.

He crossed over to the DMK and lost in 1996 from Sathur. However, he regained the seat in 2001. Having won five elections, he is now seeking a sixth win, again from Sathur for the DMK.

Another sure winner has been DMK's Parithi Ezhamvaluthi, somewhat in Adam Gilchrist's mould rather than Ricky Ponting's. He has won five times, all from Egmore constituency in Chennai city. He is known for his fiery speeches. He is contesting again in the 2006 polls.

Sure and steady like the Wall has been S Thirunavukkarasar.

Originally an MGR loyalist, he won from his home constituency of Aranthangi six times. He made his debut in 1977. He maintained his vein of form in 1980, 1984, 1989, 1991, when he formed his own party MGR ADMK and 1996, he merged his party with Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK.

In the 2001 Assembly polls, he fielded a nominee of his. The latter won from Aranthangi. He is presently a Rajya Sabha MP representing the BJP from Madhya Pradesh.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more