• search

Nepal PM Koirala names seven-member Cabinet

Written by: Staff

Kathmandu, May 2: Nepal Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala today appointed a seven-member Cabinet.

CPN UML's Khagda Prasad Oli has been made the Deputy Prime Minister and also given charge of the Foreign Affairs Ministry.

Mr Ram Sharan Mahat of Nepali Congress (NC) has been made the Finance Minister while NC's spokesperson Mr Krishna Sitaula has been given charge of the Home Ministry.

Mr Gopal Shrestha of Nepali Congress (D) will be Minister of Physical Planning and Works and Mr Mahanta Thakur of NC will look after the Agriculture and Cooperatives Ministry.

Mr Prabhu Narayan Chaudary of the United Front has been given responsibility of Land Reform and Management.

A meeting of the leaders of Seven Party alliances, held here yesterday, agreed in principle to limit the strength of the Cabinet to 21.

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister has kept some of the portfolios with him for further Cabinet expansion.


Related Stories

Nepal's parliament approves polls to new assembly
Nepal's new PM invites Maoist rebels for talks

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more