• search

Lack of strong wind takes sheen off National championship

Written by: Staff

Visakhapatnam, May 2 (UNI) Naresh Yadav and B Barik of Indian Naval Watermanship Training Centre won their second race in four outings to lead in the Hobie 16 National Sailing Championship at Rushikonda Beach here today.

While Naresh and Barik won the third race, Raasekhar and S Pradhan of Naval Sailing Club emerged winners in the fourth race, pushing the leaders to second spot.

Lack of strong wind led to postponement of races to the afternoon by the Principal Race Officer, M P Jaggi, who sent the boats back to shore. Later the wind shifted and gradually picked up. Racing began at 1430 hrs but only two qualifying races of Group II were completed.

Results: Race No 3: 1. Naresh Yadav and B Barik (INWTC); 2.

Kaushal Kumar and K K Kiran Kumar (Artillery Water Sports Association); 3. P Madhu and Santosh P V (Army Yachting Node). Race No 4: 1. Rajasekhar and S Pradhan (NSC); 2. Naresh Yadav and B Barik, 3. Gautam Datta and Rohini Rau (Royal Madras Yacht Club).


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more