• search

DCI hears 2000 objections in its 1st hearing in Aurangabad

Written by: Staff

Aurangabad, Maharashtra, May 2 (UNI) Delimitation Commission of India (DCI) today heard about two thousand objections during the hearing, which was conducted here for the 13-districts of Aurangabad and Nashik division.

Prominent among those argued before the DCI included social activist Anna Hazare, former Maharashtra Chief Minister Shivajirao Patil-Nilangekar (Latur), ex-Maharashtra Minister Padamsinh Patil (Osmanabad).

Citing the geographical reasons, Mr Hazare raised objection for the proposed delimitation of Parner assembly segment in Ahmednagar Lok Sabha constituency, and demanded its restoration. As per the DCI draft proposal, the Parner constituency was to be merged with Rahuri.

Mr Hazare who deposed before the DCI in his submission, said that there were over 800 represenatatives in the Gram Panchayats in Parner assembly segment. He urged the DCI for the restoration of Parner constituency.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Shivajirao Patil-Nilangekar objected to the proposed changes in the delimitation of Latur district by detaching Ausa assembly segment from it to attach it with Osmanabad and bringing Loha segment in Latur.

Mr Patil-Nilangekar pointed out that the DCI felt the above changes necessary following its decision to attach Bhada Revenue circle in Latur and urged the DCI to change its mind from bringing Bhada circle in Latur, to avoid the other adjustment, which the people of the Latur may find inconvenient.

Former Maharashtra Revenue Minister also urged the DCI to make two separate assembly segments of Latur rural and Latur urban.

Former Maharashtra Minister Padmasinh Patil raised objection to the proposed delimitation of Osmanabad tehsil.

According to him, the Osmanabad tehsil has been vertically divided due to the proposed delimitation draft of the DCI, which itself was a violation of the guidelines of the DCI.

Mr Patil, in his submission, urged the commission to add Dhoki, Padali and Ter in the Osmanabad assembly segment.

Hearing began at 1000 hrs in the morning and was continued till 1945 hrs in the evening.

DCI Chairman Justice Kuldip Singh, Election Commissioner N Gopalswami, State Election Commissioner Nand Lal, Deputy Election Commissioner Dr Mrutunjay Sarangi, Secretary and Chief Electoral Officer, Maharashtra U P S Madan and the other members of DCI committee such as MPs Balasaheb Vikhe-Patil, Shriniwas Patil, Ramdas Athawale, Mahadeo Shivankar, MLAs Dilip Valse-Patil, Balasaheb Thorat, Subhash Desai and Harshwardhan Deshmukh were present on behalf of DCI during the hearing.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more