• search

Stuart Clarke rewarded with first full contract

Written by: Staff

Sydney, May 1 (UNI) Australia's hero in the South African tour Stuart Clark was today handed his first full contract by Cricket Australia, including him in the list of 25 players named for the next 12 months.

Clark, who took 20 wickets and the man-of-the-series award during last month's 3-0 Test triumph against the Proteas, joined paceman Mitchell Johnson and batsman Phil Jaques as first time recipients of a contract announced for the first time after the Ashes Series lost against England last year.

Jason Gillespie, Damien Martyn and Michael Kasprowicz, all discarded after the Ashes lost, also received fresh deals while Cameron White, Mick Lewis and James Hopes have been left out.

However, the contracts of opening batsman Mark Cosgrove and seamer Brett Dorey, who both featured in the 3-0 ODI victory against Bangladesh, have not been renewed, the same in case of James Hopes, Cameron White and Mick Lewis also.

National Selection Panel (NSP) Chairman Andrew Hilditch said the selectors had chosen an evenly balanced list of senior players combined with some of Australia's young emerging talent.

''We are very pleased with the balance of the list. There are some very experienced players amongst the group along with some younger players who have performed very well at domestic level,'' Hilditch said in a statement.

''We have some major tournaments and series on the horizon in the Ashes and World Cup, and we have selected this group of players with these campaigns in mind. We are confident in the balance of the squad of the players we have seclected,'' he added.

The 25 players have been nominated on the basis of their form over the past 12 months, their likelihood of Australian selection over the next 12 months taking into account who Australia plays, balance of the side and the need to ensure the future development of the Test and one-day international team.

The contracted players are paid a base retainer, which is levelled according to a player ranking system decided by the NSP. Each player also receives match fees, tour fees and prize money for on-field success.

Contracted players: Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Daniel Cullen, Adam Gilchrist, Jason Gillespie, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Kasprowicz, Simon Katich, Justin Langer, Brett Lee, Stuart MacGill, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Warne, Shane Watson UNI XC PDS DS1355

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more