• search

India crush UAE to 126-run defeat in EurAsia Cup

Written by: Staff

Abu Dhabi, May 1 (UNI) Pace colleagues Rudra Pratap Singh and Vikram Rajvir Singh produced devastating spells of fast bowling to shut out minnows United Arab Emirates for a paltry 70 and gave India 'A' a 126-run victory in the Group 'C' league match of the six-nation Eurasia Series at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium here last night.

The UAE innings folded up in just 15.1 overs with the two new ball bowlers bagging all the 10 wickets between them. R P Singh returned with figures of 5-30 and V R V Singh 5-38.

Only three Emirates batsmen could reach double figures, with 18 extras including five no balls and 11 wides topping the UAE score card.

Earler, wicket-keeper batsmen Dinesh Karthick and in-form all rounder Rohit Sharma saved the blushes for India 'A' as they were restricted to a poor 196 by the minnows.

Electing to bat first after winning the toss, India 'A' were down to 20 for three with Robin Uthappa, Shikhar Dhawan and captain Venugopal Rao back in the pavilion in the ninth over, falling to Asad Ali's pace.

But man-of-the-match Karthik (75, 87 balls, 5X4, 2X6) and Sharma (56, 68 balls, 4X4) put on a 123-run partnership for the fourth wicket to take India 'A' to a defendable target.

Dhawan (1) was the first to go in the third over in the fourth ball he faced in the innings, while Uthappa scored two facing 14 balls before departing in the fifth over.

Rao could not stem the rot and got out after scoring seven runs from 29 balls, and then Karthik and Sharma steadied the ship.

After sticking together for 24 overs, Sharma was the first to depart out in the 33rd over and Karthik followed suit two overs later.

The Indian tail failed to wag before the Emirates bowling. They added just 44 runs from 12 overs and were all out for 196 in 46.5 overs.

For UAE, Ali Asad was the most successful bowler with a figure of 10-3-30-3.

India 'A' next play Ireland tomorrow.

Scoreboard: India 'A' innings: Robin Uthappa c Arshad Ali b Ali Asad 2 Shikhar Dhawan c Abdul Rehman b Ali Asad 1 Venugopal Rao c Abdul Rehman b Ali Asad 7 Dinesh Karthik c Naeemuddin Aslam b Zahid Shah 75 Rohit Sharma c Abdul Rehman b Zahid Shah 56 A Jhunjhunwala c Abdul Rehman b Arshad Ali 12 Ravinder Jadeja st Abdul Rehman b Khurram Khan 16 Piyush Chawla run out 10 V R V Singh c Amjad Javed b Mohammad Tauqir 4 R P Singh not out 3 S S Paul lbw b Khurram Khan 0 Extras: (LB-1, W-8, NB-1) 10 Total: (All out in 46.5 overs) 196 Fall of wickets: 1/1 2/6 3/20 4/143 5/152 6/169 7/182 8/189 9/196 Bowling: Ali Asad 10-3-30-3 Zahid Shah 10-0-34-2 Ahmed Raza 5-0-24-0 Mohammad Tauqir 10-0-40-1 Khurram Khan 2.5-0-23-2 Arshad Ali 9-0-44-1 UAE innings: A Javed b R P Singh 4 A Ali b V R V Singh 1 A Rehman lbw R P Singh 0 S Ali c Karthik b V R V Singh 10 K Khan c Uthappa b R P Singh 0 N Aslam c Rohit Sharma b V R V Singh 0 F Usman c Jhunjhunwala b R P Singh 12 M Tauqir not out 7 A Asad lbw R P Singh 0 Z Shah b V R V Singh 1 A Raza lbw VRV Singh 17 Extras: (LB-2, NB-5, W-11) 18 Fall of wickets: 1/5 2/5 3/15 4/19 5/22 6/40 7/50/8/50 9/51 Bowling: R P Singh 8-1-30-5 V R V Singh 7.1-0-38-5 UNI XC PDS AY HS1304

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more