4,218 candidates file nominations

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Apr 20 (UNI) A total of 4,218 candidates have filed their papers as filing of nomination for the May 8 Assembly election in Tamil Nadu drew to a close today.

DMK Treasurer Arcot N Veerasamy, AIADMK nominee for T Nagar, Kalai Rajan and hundreds of independents were among the 2054 contestants who filed their nomination papers on the last day.

Chief Minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa, DMK chief M Karunanidhi, actor-politician Vijayakanth and DMK Deputy General Secretary M K Stalin were prominent among those who filed their papers after nominations opened on April 13.

While Ms Jayalalithaa filed her nomination for the Andipatti seat on April 15, Mr Karunanidhi, seeking election for a record 11th time, filed his papers for the Chepauk seat in the city on April 17.

Scrutiny of nominations will be taken up tomorrow and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 24.

(Eds: Pick up suitably from MS 45) UNI AKN AA SC PM0123

Please Wait while comments are loading...