• search

1,98,817 voters in three Kashmir constituencies

Written by: Staff

Srinagar, Apr 11 (UNI) An estimated 1,98,817 voters, including 96,010 women, are expected to exercise their franchise in three Assembly constituencies of Pattan, Rafiabad and Sangrama in Jammu and Kashmir's Baramulla district, where by-elections are scheduled to be held on April 24.

Out of the total 76,355 voters in Pattan constituency, 39,312 are men and 37,043 women. Similarly in Rafiabad, there are 67,011 electorate out of which 34,697 are men and 32,314 women.

In Sangrama constituency, out of the total 55,451 voters, 28,798 are men and 26,653 women.

In all, there are 1,98,817 voters out of which 1,02,807 are men and 96,010 women.

As many as 15 candidates are in the fray for the bypolls. While four candidates each are contesting from Pattan and Rafiabad, Sangrama will witness a fight between seven contestants.

In Pattan, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Moulvi Iftikhar Hussain Ansari will battle it out against Sheikh Mustaffa Kamal of the National Conference (NC). There are two independents -- Abdul Ahad Najar and Nazir Ahmed Mir as well.

In Rafiabad, PDP's Mohammad Dilwar Mir is pitted against NC's Advocate Mohammad Maqbool Mir, BJP's Mohammad Maqbool War and Abdul Khaliq Sheikh of the Panthers Party.

In Sangrama, the NC has decided to support independent candidate from Sangrama Shoaib Nabi Lone, the son of then Minister of State for Education Dr Ghulam Nabi Lone, who was assassinated by unidentified gunmen at high-security Tulsi Bagh area here on October 18 last year.

The PDP has fielded Javed Hussain Baig, the nephew of Deputy Chief Minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig, while three other independents -- Zafarullah Beigh, Abdul Rehman Lone and Ghulam Mohiuddin Bhat -- are also in the fray.

The Panthers Party has nominated Sonaullah Beigh and Javed Ahmed Qureshi is the Rashtriya Lok Dal candidate.

The by-elections in Pattan and Rafiabad have been necessitated following the resignation of sitting legislators -- Moulvi Ansari and Mr Mir respectively -- after they left the NC to join the PDP.

The bypoll in Sangrama has been necessitated due to the killing of Dr Lone.

The polling will be held on April 24 while the counting of votes would be taken up on April 27.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more