• search

Nine candidates file papers for first phase polls in UT

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Apr 10 (UNI) Pondicherry Health Minister E Valsaraj and Parliamentary secretary to the Chief Minister A V Sreedharan, are among the nine candidates, who filed their nominations today for the first phase of assembly elections to be held in this union territory on May 3.

Mr Valsaraj (Congress), Mr P K Vijayan (AIADMK), Mr Balan (BJP) and Mr Ashok Kumar (CPI-M) filed their papers for the Mahe constituency while Mr A V Sreedharan (Congress), Mr P K Gangadharan (CPI-M), Mr Latchumanan (AIADMK), Mr Sathyan (BJP) and Mr Badarudheen (Independent) filed their papers for the Palloor constituency.

No nominations were field for the Yanam constituency today.

So far 14 candidates have filed their nomination papers to contest from Mahe, Palloor and Yanam constituencies.

Polling to the three constituencies will be held on May 3 in the first phase and elections to the 27 constituencies in Pondicherry and Karaikal regions will take place in the second phase on May 8.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more