• search

Top seed Surya Sekhar Ganguly Shocked on day 2

Written by: Staff

Visakhapatnam, Apr 4 (UNI) Day two of the National 'A' Chess Championship at Swarna Bharathi Indoor Stadium here produced some dramatic results with top seed and reigning National Champion Grandmaster Surya Sekhar Ganguly shocked by unfancied Himanshu Sharma (Haryana).

National A debutant, Himanshu Sharma had the white pieces and chose to employ the closed variation against Ganguly's Sicilian Defence. After neutralising's white's customary opening edge, Ganguly sacrificed an exchange to drag the enemy King into the open. However Himanshu defended well and maintained his material advantage. In fact, he overlooked a simple mate in two moves aiding Ganguly to prolong the game until the 102nd move before throwing in the towel.

National number 3, Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte of IOC also suffered a shock defeat at the hands of IM Arun Prasad of Oil India. In a Queen's Gambit declined game, Arun Prasad obtained a minute edge in the form of a central passed pawn. Playing cautiously he converted his positional advantage into a material one to notch a victory in a Queen and Bishop endgame.

GM Koneru Humpy of the host state, IM M R Venkatesh of BPCL and IM J Deepan Chakkaravarthy of Tamil Nadu are in joint lead with two full points. While, Humpy positionally outplayed Argyadip Das from the white side of the Queen's Indian defence, Venkatesh overpowered Kamble in the French defence through tactical means.

Deepan Chakravarthy overcame tough opposition from Sriram Jha of LIC after 49 moves in a Slav defence game. It was Deepan who employed the Slav defence, actually a favourite of his experienced adversary.

Petroff is 'half-half', the feeling of many a chess theoretician and fans alike came true once again when GM R B Ramesh played the Petroff defence to hold GM Sandipan Chanda to a draw in 30 moves.

Diverging from known ideas by fianchettoing his Queen Bishop, Ramesh put Sandipan into reflection. And despite damage in the Black's King side pawn structure, Sandipan could not make much headway and offered a draw, which Ramesh accepted.

GM Tejas Bakre withdrew from the championship owing to ill health. His opponent today Tej Kumar got a rest day. Similarly, other players supposed to meet Bakre will have an extra rest day.

Only exception is Sandipan Chanda who defeated Bakre in the first round. Sandipan's victory will be not counted as a point. However he is expected to gain some FIDE rating in view of his win over Bakre.

In the women's championship, WGM Swathi Ghate (LIC), WIM Mary Ann Gomes (WB), Nimmy George (KER) and Kiran Mohanty (ORI) scored their second consecutive victories to share the top spot. Current National Champion WGM Nisha Mohota also had a good day, defeating WGM R Aarthie in 29 moves from the Nimzo Indian Opening. Swathi Ghate employed the popular Scheveningen Siclian defence in her encounter with fellow Maharshtrian Amrita Mokal to come out the victor, while last year's runners up Mary Ann Gomes, who missed her board exams to play in the championship, defeated her statemate from West Bengal, Supriya Maji using White and Dutch opening.

Nimmy George dealt a hard blow in another Siclian Scheveningen system to Soumya Swaminathan of Maharashtra, who suffered her second consecutive defeat. In the class of National A first timers, Kiran and Iswarya, Kiran emerged victorious from the Black side of the Sicilian Najdorf opening.

Newcomer Ramya Krishna who played today after completing her board exams opened her account right away defeating Swati Mohata of West Bengal from the white side of the Queen's Gambit exchange variation.

Round 2 results (Men) Himanshu Sharma (HP) (1) beat GM S S Ganguly (1) D P Singh (JHA) (1.5) drew with IM DK Sharma (UP) (0.5) GM Sandipan Chanda (1.5) drew with GM RB Ramesh (1.5) Sriram Jha (LIC) (0.5) lost to IM Deepan Chakravarthy (2) IM MR Venkatesh (BPCL) (2) beat Vikramaditya Kamble (MAH) (0.5) BS Shivananda (KAR) (1) drew with IM PDS Girinath (AP) (0.5) GM Koneru Humpy (AP) (2) beat Argyadip Das (WB) (0.5) GM Abhijit Kunte (IOC) (0.5) lost to S Arun Prasad (1) IM S Kidambi (1.5) drew with Saptarishi Roy Chowdhury (1) IM Abhijeet Gupta (1) beat IM Lanka Ravi (0) MS Tej Kumar (KAR) Bye (No game) GM Tejas Bakre withdrew from the championship.

Round 2 Results (Women) WGM D Harika (AP) (1) drew with WGM S Vijayalakshmi (IA) (1) WGM Nisha Mohota (Oil India) (1.5) beat WGM R Aarthie (IA) (0.5) WIM Mary Ann Gomes (WB) (2) beat Supriya Maji (WB) (0.5) WGM Esha Karvade (1) beat WIM Anupama Gokhale (BPCL) (0) Amruta Mokal (MAH) (1) lost to WGM Swathi Ghate (LIC) (2) Alka Das (1) (WB) beat JE Kavitha (TN) (0) L Iswarya Shobana (1) (TN) lost to Kiran Mohanty (2) Nimmy George (KER) (2) Beat Soumya Swaminathan (MAH) (0) Ramya Krishna (0) (AP) Swati Mohota (WB) (0) Meenakshi (0.5) Bye (No game)


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more