• search

Over 40 pc polling till noon in Asom

Written by: Staff

Guwahati, Apr 3 (UNI) More than forty per cent polling was recorded till noon today in the first phase of Assembly elections to 65 seats in Asom, amid sporadic showers in different parts of the state.

The remaining 61 constituencies would go to the polls on April 10.

Upper Asom constituencies reported the maximum turnout till now, with the urban voters turning up in lesser numbers in the early hours of voting.

The three districts of Dhemaji, Dibrugarh and Tinsukia had recorded the maximum polling till noon. Turnout in urban centres such as Guwahati (Sadar), Jorhat and Silchar had been comparatively low.

So far, the world's biggest riverine island of Majuli had recorded the highest polling with about 40 per cent turnout. Jonai, Dhemaji and Sadiya had recorded about 26-30 per cent turnout each.

The four constituencies of Guwahati (Sadar) had recorded a mere 16 per cent turnout till noon. Jorhat and Silchar had recorded 15 per cent and 12 per cent polling respectively.

Voting is expected to pick up later in the afternoon in the urban constituencies.

Polling so far has been peaceful with no untoward incident reported from any part of the state.

Security arrangements had been tightened, and with the militant groups staying away from the election process, the polling was expected to be peaceful.

Out of the 9,723 booths in this phase, 1,797 had been identified as very sensitive and 3,227 as sensitive. Altogether 300 additional companies of central forces had been deployed in the constituencies.

As many as 92,07,504 voters would decide the fate of 515 candidates. Electronic voting machines were being used for the first time in all the constituencies in an Assembly election in the state.

Of the 65 Assembly seats in the first phase, 34 are in Upper Asom, 15 in Barak Valley, 10 in Kamrup district, three each in Morigaon district and Hojai subdivision of Nagaon district.

Algapur constituency in southern Asom has the highest number of 25 candidates in the fray, while Titabor in eastern Asom, from where Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi is contesting, has the lowest number of four candidates.

Today's poll will decide the fate of several heavyweights, including Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi (Titabor), Speaker Prithvi Majhi (Lahowal), state Congress president Bhubaneswar Kalita (Rangiya), former Union Minister Bijoya Chakraborty (Dispur) and several sitting MLAs.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more